Nonprofit organization supporting sustainability projects on the local, national and international levels. Brings together businesses, government agencies, academic institutions, religious organizations, nonprofits, community groups, and individuals.

Ursinus College is a member of AASHE, an association of colleges and universities that are working to create a sustainable future. Provides resources, professional development, and a network of support to enable institutions of higher education to model and advance sustainability in everything they do, from governance and operations to education and research.

Vermont-based think tank focused on understanding the root causes of unsustainable behavior in complex systems. Staff includes biologists, writers, social scientists, system dynamics modelers, and facilitators who aim to help restructure systems and shift mindsets that will help move human society toward sustainability.

Aims to accelerate the deployment and use of renewable energy, green buildings, and energy efficiency. Produces major events that inspire and motivate large numbers of people to get involved and make a difference. Links organized by energy, buildings, transportation.

Entrepreneurial non profit organization fostering the efficient and restorative use of resources to make the world secure, just, prosperous, and life-sustaining. They collaborate with business, civil society, and governments to design integrative solutions that create true wealth.

National nonprofit land conservation organization that conserves land for people to enjoy as parks, community gardens, historic sites, rural lands and other natural places, ensuring livable communities for generations to come.

Independent nonprofit alliance of more than 100,000 concerned citizens and scientists. Their mission is to augment rigorous scientific analysis with innovative thinking and committed citizen advocacy to build a cleaner, healthier environment and a safer world.

Plans, tools and information to do renewable energy and conservation projects. Hundreds of projects -- from changing a light bulb to building a solar home. Design information and tools for building renewable energy projects. An Experimental section for backyard inventors. Nothing for sale here -- just free ideas, plans, and information.

Nonprofit that works to enhance the health of the planet and our communities by promoting a shift to sustainable construction and development through leadership, strategic relationships, and education.

Non profit, international association of builders, engineers, architects, academics, and developers committed to promoting intelligent building methods and materials for a sustainable future. Includes access to articles, papers, conference proceedings, and related events.

Links to Green Building Policies Network, a database for Sustainable Building Information System, and a tool for assessing and reducing energy-related impact of buildings on interior, local and global environments.

Directory of more than 1,800 environmentally preferable building products with descriptions, manufacturer information, and links to resources.

A collaboration of the Ecological Cities Project and the Lincoln Institute of Land Policy. The "Humane Metropolis" means urban communities at all scales - metro areas, cities, suburbs, neighborhoods or blocks.

This mission of this organization is to transform the way buildings and communities are designed, built and operated, enabling an environmentally and socially responsible, healthy, and prosperous environment that improves the quality of life. USGBC developed and implements the LEED scaled for environmentally-conscious building design and construction.

Nonprofit organization focused on economic strategies that solve social and environmental problems. Mobilize and educate people as consumers, investors, workers, and business leaders.

Online directory of credit unions in the U.S. These are non profit, cooperative financial institutions which are owned and controlled by their members. They often pay higher interest rates on savings and charge lower interest on loans.

Educational non profit organization demonstrating that social and environmental sustainability can be achieved by applying the values of human-scale communities and respect for the natural environment to economic issues. Links to events, local currencies, and land trusts.

Non profit seeking to restore deteriorating landscapes and the lives of the people dependent on them using practical, low-cost solutions.

Independent think-and-do tank that inspires and demonstrates real economic well-being. Aims to improve quality of life by promoting innovative solutions that challenge mainstream thinking on economic, environment and social issues.

Pools the financial resources of people who believe in the ethics of Permaculture - care of the earth, care of people, and reinvestment of surplus for the betterment of both. They then apply those resources to earth-friendly and socially responsible loans and investments.

Extensive directory of established and forming communities in the US and abroad. Organized geographically or alphabetically.

Engages the peoples of the Americas in common effort to join the global transformation towards an ecologically, economically, and culturally sustainable future.

Global confederation of people and communities who meet and share their ideas, exchange technologies, develop cultural and educational exchanges, directories and newsletters, and are dedicated to restoring the land and living "sustainable plus" lives by putting more back into the environment than is taken out.

Information for seekers of community, existing and forming communities, and other friends of community building.

Conducts in-depth technical and policy assessments, advises policymakers and program managers, works with businesses, public interest groups, and other organizations, organizes conferences and workshops, publishes books, conference proceedings, and reports, and educates consumers and businesses.

Information on the environmental impact of various consumer products and tips on improving your own usage. Also includes information on recycling, labeling, and rebates for efficient products. Currently features a comparison of alternative fuels, and ways to save money on gas.

Pennsylvania programs designed to promote the development and use of renewable energy resources.

Offers a variety of solutions to saving energy, including energy-efficient products and an online program for calculating your energy use. Also provides a network of energy programs and services for businesses.

The Commonwealth's development agency for renewable energy and the innovation economy, which is responsible for one-quarter of all jobs in the state. MTC administers the John Adams Innovation Institute and the Renewable Energy Trust.

Leader in the U.S. Department of Energy's effort to secure an energy future for the nation that is environmentally and economically sustainable.

Nonprofit focused on water, forests, oceans, and issues of smart growth in New England.

The Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ) within the Executive Office of the President coordinates the federal government’s efforts to improve, preserve, and protect America’s public health and environment. CEQ advises the President and develops policies on climate change, environmental justice, federal sustainability, public lands, oceans, and wildlife conservation, among other areas.

Provides information services, advice, publications, training courses, seminars, research programs and policy recommendations to engage and empower environmental leaders the world over. ELI’s audience is leading environmental professionals in government, industry, public interest groups and academia.

Current guidance, examples, and information resources to aid Federal agencies in developing and maintaining sustainable facilities and helping to develop and promote sustainable practices within their environmental programs or activities. Includes extensive links to related organizations, tools, and policies.

UNESCO program that cooperates with national authorities, scientific communities and civil society to help member states strengthen the connection between research and policy and between knowledge and action. This is key to fostering positive social change towards inclusive and sustainable development.

Collaboration between U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, environmental groups, historic preservation organizations, professional organizations, developers, real estate interests, local and state government entities, and government organizations. Boosts the economy, protects the environment, and enhances community vitality.

Discusses sustainability projects across state agencies that seek to minimize their environmental impacts of operations and activities, and promote innovative sustainable practices in Massachusetts.

EPA links and news on the topic of sustainability.

Dedicated to the conservation and sustainable advancement of cultural and ecological diversity and human rights. Supports socially responsible developments of technologies useful to the poor and marginalized and it addresses international governance issues and corporate power.

Monthly digest related to integral human development, solidarity, sustainability and related global issues. Collects and analyzes knowledge on both obstacles and incentives for sustainable development and, specifically, integral human development. Addresses both secular and religious non-violence.

Independent nonprofit entity recognized as a world leader in air quality and climate policy since 1985. Seeks to promote and implement innovative solutions to major environmental and energy problems which balance both environmental and economic interests.

Building self reliant communities in developing countries by distributing resources fairly, improving access to education, and preserving the environment.

As part of Canada’s foreign affairs and development efforts, the International Development Research Centre (IDRC) champions and funds research and innovation within and alongside developing regions to drive global change. We invest in high-quality research in developing countries, share knowledge with researchers and policymakers for greater uptake and use, and mobilize our global alliances to build a more sustainable and inclusive world.

Promotes the regeneration of soils and forests worldwide with finely ground rock dust as a sustainable alternative to chemical fertilizers and pesticides, creating fertile soils much as the Earth does. Not only do we need to recycle and return the organic matter to the soil, it is equally vital to return all of the mineral nutrients which create fertile soils and healthy crops and forests.

A forum for sustainable development within the United Nations system. Established by the UN General Assembly in 1992 to ensure effective follow-up of the United Nations Conference on Environment and Development, also known as the Earth Summit. Reviews progress on local, national, regional and international levels.

Environmental think tank providing objective information and practical proposals for policy and institutional change that will foster environmentally sound, socially equitable development.

Offers a current listing of upcoming permaculture design courses and a networking directory linking students to teachers and information, homeowners to designers and consultants, and homeseekers to community.

Non profit educational organization providing courses and workshops designed to effectively teach the skills necessary to live a more sustainable life on the planet. RDI has evolved out of the Permaculture Institute of Northern California (PINC) which continues to be a key project.