Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Civil War Images
Civil War Glass Negatives and Related Prints
This Library of Congress collection contains 1,118 photographs. Most of the images were made under the supervision of Mathew B. Brady, and include scenes of military personnel, preparations for battle, and battle after-effects. The collection also includes portraits of both Confederate and Union officers, and a selection of enlisted men. An additional two hundred autographed portraits of army and navy officers, politicians, and cultural figures can be seen.
Gardner's Photographic Sketch Book of the War
Thirty images from Gardner’s Photographic Sketch Book of the War are presented on this web site. The images are accompanied by Gardner’s original captions, written when the volume was first published in 1865, and organized into seven themes.
Paintings and other Images
Worcester Art Museum's American Art Online Collection
The collections at the Worcester Art Museum span the history of American art from 1670 to the end of the twentieth century, with special strengths in colonial painting and American Impressionism. By virtue of the Museum's location in central New England and the scholarly interests of the first curators of the collection, Worcester's early American paintings include many renowned works.
Digital Library for the Decorative Arts & Material Culture
Digitized primary materials significant to the decorative arts and material culture of Early America including electronic texts and facsimiles, image databases, and Web resources.
Early American Images
Rare and hard-to-find images featuring the people, places and events of early America's historic past
[Available through Myrin Library]. A huge collection of images (paintings, photos, sculptures, etc.) from all over the world. Search for "colonial america" to find things from that time period.