The documents in the Federal Depository Library Program's Basic Collection are vital sources of information that support the public's right to know the workings and essential activities of the Federal Government.
Basic Collection Links
Ben's Guide to the Government
A service of the Government Publishing Office (GPO), Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government informs students, parents, and educators about the Federal Government.
Budget of the United States Government
Contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications issued throughout the fiscal year.
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance provides detailed, public descriptions of Federal assistance listings available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); Federally recognized Indian tribal governments, Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi- public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups, and individuals.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) is a finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
Compilation of Presidential Documents
The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. The Compilation of Presidential Documents is published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).
Congress.gov
Provides information about legislative activities, publications, and other related materials for members of Congress and the public.
Congressional Directory
The Congressional Directory is the Official Directory of the U.S. Congress, It contains: short biographies of Senate and House Members, along with their room and telephone numbers, Committee memberships, terms of service, and
lists officials of the courts, military establishments, and other Federal departments and agencies, including D.C. government officials, governors of states and territories, foreign diplomats, and members of the press.
Congressional Record
The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. The "Daily Digest", situated at the back of each daily issue, summarizes the day's floor and committee activities.
Constitution Annotated: Analysis and Interpretation of the U.S. Constitution
The Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation, or "Constitution Annotated" provides a legal analysis and interpretation of the United States Constitution. This website makes the constitution searchable and interactive.
Also available in print in Reference:
REF 342.73 UN3CO
Data.census.gov
Search for census data on this website from the United States Census Bureau.
Economic Indicators
Available from April 1995 forward in the Federal Digital System (FDsys), this monthly publication is prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
Economic Report of the President
The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. The Economic Report of the President is transmitted to Congress no later than ten days after the submission of the Budget of the United States Government.
Federal Register
The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. It is published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).
govinfo
govinfo provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government (Legislative, Executive, Judicial).
