Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Importance of Articles
Perhaps the most important resource Art History majors need are scholarly (and often peer-reviewed) journal articles. These can be difficult to find, especially if you rely on the open web. Instead, start in some of these databases to find art-related journal articles. If you find a record for something that isn't full text, you'll need to use InterLibrary Loan to request it.
Want an article that we don't have in the library? Use the FIND FULL TEXT button in the databases. You can also directly link into the InterLibrary Loan (ILL) system to request articles that you find in bibliographies, from your professors, or out there on the Web.
Citing Your Sources!
Citing your sources properly -- yes, even the images you use! -- is important and required.
Purdue University's OWL Writing Lab Citation resources are the best ones out there on the web. Generally, Art and Art History courses require that you use either MLA or Chicago style. Detailed information on both styles are availble here.
Diane can help with citations, too!
Databases for Articles
The best place to start to look for scholarly journal articles and popular magazine articles on art-related topics. Not everything is full text so you will need to InterLibrary Loan what you can't get here. Full-text Art Journals included in this database are:
- Aurora, The Journal of the History of Art (2000-2010)
- British Art Journal (2007 - present)
- Parachute: Contemporary Art Magazine (1996-2006)
- C: International Contemporary Art (1996-present)
This database includes hundreds of newspaper and magazine articles that will give you information on exhibitions and contemporary artists. Coverage is generally back to the 1980s and is ALL full-text.
New York Times (Historical Collection, 1851-2017)
All the New York Times articles from 1851 - 5 years ago. This is a great place to find contemporary reviews of older books and articles about photographers from their own time.
Our current collection of JSTOR journals does not include very many Art journals. However, it is still worth searching to see what is available, as it is all Full-Text and all scholarly.
Contains the journal Leonardo from 2001-present