Research Portal: Health Sciences: Find Articles

Occupational Outlook Handbook

The Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is the nation′s premier source for career information. The profiles featured here cover hundreds of occupations and describe What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes BLS employment projections for the 2020–30 decade.

Popular Sources

For articles from magazines and newspapers about current health topics and trends, try:

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from thousands of newspapers, magazines, law reviews, and business journals. Nexis Uni also has a Law component that includes federal and state cases and codes, and a Business component that includes company profiles, SEC filings and financials.

Interlibrary Loan

Sometimes a book, journal, or article you need for your research is unavailable online or in print at Mryin Library. In these cases, use the InterLibrary Loan system!

Within any database, click on the FIND FULL TEXT link, and navigate to the ILL system from there.

See below for a direct link to the ILL website, where you can manually create Article and Book requests.

You will receive an email when your Inter Library Loan has arrived. If it's an article, there will be instructions about how to retrieve the electronic copy; if it's a book, you'll come get it at the Circulation Desk.

Interlibrary Loan Service
Login here to borrow materials from other libraries.

Scholarly Sources (mainly!)

For scholarly, peer-reviewed articles on your topic, try these resources. Note that Academic OneFile and ERIC contain a mix of scholarly and trade publications.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A great place to start for any research project. Full-text articles from both scholarly journals and popular magazines. Covers all disciplines.
Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new window
This is an INDEX of articles from peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, and many other publications. This is a comprehensive database featuring a variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered as they continue to become more prevalent in our society. Use the FIND FULL TEXT link to get to the full text of articles.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive online digital library of education research and information available. ERIC provides ready access to education literature from journals, books, research symposia, conference papers, policy papers, reports and from practitioners in the field who submit their work to the Department of Education. Some full text is available. Late 1960s – present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines. Current articles (from the past 5 years) are NOT found in JSTOR. Also includes books.