A searchable database of freely available, peer-reviewed full text journals covering all scholarly disciplines.
PubMed Central is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Public Library of Science is a nonprofit open access scientific publishing project aimed at creating a library of open access journals and other scientific literature under an open content license.
BioMed Central is a scientific publisher specializing in open access journal publication. BioMed Central and its sister companies Chemistry Central and PhysMath Central publish over 200 scientific journals.
Jeffrey Beall's List of Predatory Publishers (Archived)
Jeffrey Beall, an academic librarian at the University of Colorado, maintained a list of predatory publishers and suspect journals until January 2017.
Funded in part by the Directory of Open Access Journals, "ThinkCheckSubmit" maintains a helpful checklist for determining if a journal can be trusted.
Steven Harnad's writings on the "self-archiving initiative" outline the rationales for posting scholarly work in a green open access repository.
A searchable database of publisher's policies regarding the self- archiving of journal articles on the web and in Open Access repositories.
The Open Citation Project has posted a "Bibliography of Studies on the Effect of Open Access and Downloads on Citation Impact."
The Open Access Spectrum (OAS) Evaluation Tool helps assess a journal's degree of openness across a range of criteria. This independent measure can be of crucial benefit to authors, libraries, research funders, government agencies, and other interested parties. The OAS Evaluation Tool aims to provide unprecedented insight and transparency into scholarly journals' degree of openness.