Cornell University's e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics.
Click here to search or browse the archive.
The Social Science Research Network is a repository devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.
Research Papers in Economics is a repository of research in economics and related sciences, encompassing working papers, journal articles, books, book chapters and software components.
The Digital Commons Network provides access to free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide, including Ursinus College! The Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
Click here to search the network.
Click here to access Digital Commons @ Ursinus.
Digital Commons is a suite of tools and services that enable institutions to manage, display, and publish scholarship to the web in a highly visible online showcase. Digital Commons offers all of the features of a traditional institutional repository (IR) as well as professional-grade publishing tools and SelectedWorks™ individual scholar pages.
With Digital Commons, we can collect, preserve, and make visible all of our intellectual output, including pre-prints, working papers, peer-reviewed journal articles, dissertations, student honors papers and Summer Fellows work, conference proceedings, presentations, data sets, images, audio and video files.
SelectedWorks is an optional add-on to the Digital Commons suite, which allows faculty to create and manage their own personal researcher pages. Content from SelectedWorks sites can be collected into the repository and vice versa.
Most institutions designate an administrator to upload and post papers. Individual authors can also choose to upload their own articles, which will then be sent to the administrator for approval. The system automatically converts Microsoft Word and RTF documents to PDF when needed.
Site administrators can run reports that provide download and referral information for each article, series, department, or for the whole institution. Authors automatically receive monthly download reports for their papers. In addition, all Digital Commons repository sites are fully integrated with Google™ Analytics, a third-party service that provides detailed information on website traffic.
Yes. Digital Commons has a multi-tiered disaster recovery plan utilizing fail-over servers and regular on-site and off-site backups. They make copies of repository content available to subscribers so they can create their own back-ups, and support LOCKSS, an OAIS-compliant preservation strategy that provides tools for libraries to back up each other’s content.
Digital Commons content is full-text indexed in major search engines like Google™, Bing™, and Google™ Scholar. Scholars can find your papers and objects by topic, author, keyword, or institution. Customized email alerts and RSS feeds are also available to readers, allowing them to be automatically notified of new research.
No. Works can still be deposited while the full text remains “dark,” embargoed, or institution-only access. There are many options. The associated metadata is discoverable, allowing for increased visibility.
Yes! Digital Commons comes equipped with EdiKit™, a professional-grade editorial management system, which is currently used by over one hundred peer-reviewed journals. EdiKit brings the entire peer-review process, including deadline management, communication between authors, editors and reviewers, and other editorial tasks, online via its intuitive interface.
Yes. You can create open access or subscription-based journals with Digital Commons. The repository can support as many journals as you wish to create.
Yes. Digital Commons offers full and granular control of editor and administrator privileges. For peer-reviewed publications, editors, reviewers and authors have default privileges that may be adjusted to meet the editor's requirements.
(Adapted from the Digital Commons FAQ)
The Directory of Open Access Repositories is a quality-controlled searchable database of academic open access repositories.
The Registry of Open Access Repositories tracks the growth and status of digital repositories worldwide.