Encyclopedias and other reference books can be a great place to start exploring topics and beginning your research. They can introduce you to scholars in the field and give you an overview of scholarship that has been done in the past on your topic. Many of these resources will also provide useful bibliographies that can lead you to more information.
While the examples below deal specifically with ethics and world philosophies, it is important to note that one might also consult a more general encyclopedia and look for a specific subject contained within. For example, one might look up the topic of "Bioethics" in the Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Call Number: Reference 100 R765) to find relevant information.
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics by
Applied ethics, a subdiscipline of philosophy, lends itself to an encyclopedia format because of the many industries and intellectual fields that it encompasses. The Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics is based on twelve major categories, such as Biomedical Ethics and Environmental Ethics. Religious traditions that embody normative beliefs, as well as classical theories of ethics, are explored in a non-judgmental manner. Each of the twelve categories is divided into discrete areas that are covered by 5,000-6,000 word articles. Each of the 281 articles begins with a definition of the subject and includes a table of contents, glossary of key terms, and bibliography. Second- and third- level headings, boxes, sidebars, and the like emphasize the reference-oriented nature of the material. The four volumes are arranged in an A-Z format, with a complete subject index at the end of the last volume. Articles are written by international experts, arranged alphabetically by title, not by subject, and cross-referenced so the reader can locate relevant information in other articles.
Encyclopedia of Bioethics by
This is a interdisciplinary study of the ethical and moral dimensions of human conduct in the areas of the life sciences and health care. It contains 460 articles and re-examines and expands on the previous edition.
Encyclopedia of Animal Rights and Animal Welfare by
From the use of animals in experiments to develop medicine for people to the preservation of endangered species in zoos, human beings' responsibility to and for their fellow animals has become an increasingly controversial subject. This book, which Jane Goodall in her foreword calls unique, informative, and exciting, provides a provocative overview of the many different perspectives on the issues of animal rights and animal welfare in an easy-to-use encyclopedic format. Students, teachers, and interested readers can explore the ideas of well-known philosophers, biologists, and psychologists in this field, such as Peter Singer, Tom Regan, and over 125 others, all of whom have contributed original entries. Bekoff has provided a wide variety of well-chosen entries, defining terms and concepts and providing brief biographies, all of which relate to the topics of animal rights and animal welfare from the perspectives of many different disciplines: philosophy, psychology, ethology, anthropology, ecology, sociology, education, law, history, politics, theology, veterinary science, and public administration. The multidisciplinary approach allows users to critically examine the varied angles and arguments and gain a better understanding of the history and development of animal rights and animal protectionist movements worldwide.
Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy by
The Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy is a unique one-volume reference work which makes a broad range of richly varied philosophical, ethical and theological traditions accessible to a wide audience. The Companion is divided into six sections covering the main traditions within Asian thought: Persian; Indian; Buddhist; Chinese; Japanese; and Islamic philosophy. Each section contains a collection of chapters which provide comprehensive coverage of the origins of the tradition, its approaches to, for example, logic and languages, and to questions of morals and society. The chapters also contain useful histories of the lives of the key influential thinkers, as well as a thorough analysis of the current trends.
Encyclopedia of Chinese Philosophy by
Featuring contributions from the world's most highly esteemed Asian philosophy scholars, this important new encyclopedia covers the complex and increasingly influential field of Chinese thought, from earliest recorded times to the present day. Including coverage on the subject previously unavailable to English speakers, the Encyclopedia sheds light on the extensive range of concepts, movements, philosophical works, and thinkers that populate the field. It includes a thorough survey of the history of Chinese philosophy; entries on all major thinkers from Confucius to Mou Zongsan; essential topics such as aesthetics, moral philosophy, philosophy of government, and philosophy of literature; surveys of Confucianism in all historical periods (Zhou, Han, Tang, and onward) and in key regions outside China; schools of thought such as Mohism, Legalism, and Chinese Buddhism; trends in contemporary Chinese philosophy, and more.
The following are some examples of print books available in the circulating collection of Myrin Library. Examples include specific ethical topics (note that we have a series of books on "Contemporary World Issues"), general ethics works and non-western philosophical texts. These books were found in the catalog by using search terms listed on the right side of this page.
When you find a book that is particularly useful for your research, please make a note of the call number and be sure to physically browse the shelf at that location or do a virtual browse in OneSearch. You are likely to find other useful books there-- you may literally "stumble upon" something great!
The Market for Virtue by
The principles and practices of corporate social responsibility (CSR) date back more than a century, but the current wave of interest in this topic is unprecedented. This heightened attention is global and is evidenced on every conceivable measure. It is reflected in the growth of social and ethical investment funds, the dramatic increase in voluntary codes of conduct for companies and industries, and the number of companies that issue reports on their social and environmental practices and policies. Similarly, the mobilization of nongovernmental organizations to challenge a wide range of corporate environmental and human rights practices, the frequency of consumer boycotts and protests, and the number of organizations and institutions established to monitor, measure, and report on corporate social and environmental performance all demonstrate deep grassroots interest. In this book, David Vogel provides the first comprehensive, in-depth review of the contemporary CSR movement in both the United States and Europe. He presents a careful and balanced appraisal of the movement's accomplishments and limitations, including a critical evaluation of the business case for CSR. While acknowledging the movement's achievements, most notably in improving some labor, human rights, and environmental conditions in developing countries, he also demonstrates that CSR's potential to bring about a significant change in corporate behavior is exaggerated. The Market for Virtue explores to what extent future improvements in corporate conduct can occur without more extensive or effective government regulation #151;in the United States, Europe, the Far East, and in the developing countries. In other words, what is the long-term potential of business self-regulation? Vogel concludes that the amount of improvement that can be expected is far more modest than much contemporary writing on corporate responsibility has claimed. There is a market for virtue, but it is limited by the substantial costs of more responsible business behavior.
Global Sex Workers by
Global Sex Workers presents the personal experiences of sex workers around the world. Drawing on their individual narratives, it explores international struggles to uphold the rights of this often marginalized group.
Bioethics for Beginners by
How far is too far? 60 cases illustrating modern bioethicaldilemmas Bioethics for Beginners maps the giant dilemmas posed bynew technologies and medical choices, using 60 cases taken from ourheadlines, and from the worlds of medicine and science. Thiseminently readable book takes it one case at a time, shedding lighton the social, economic and legal side of 21st century medicinewhile giving the reader an informed basis on which to answerpersonal, practical questions. Unlocking the debate behind theheadlines, this book combines clear thinking with the very latestin science and medicine, enabling readers to decide for themselvesexactly what the scientific future should hold.
Unfit for the Future by
Unfit for the Future argues that the future of our species depends on our finding ways to bring about radical enhancement of the moral aspects of our own human nature. Advances in technology enable us to exercise an influence that extends all over the world and far into the future. But our moral psychology lags behind, and leaves us ill equipped to deal with the challenges we now face. Persson and Savulescu maintain that it is likely that we shall needto make use of new technologies, in particular pharmacological and genetic, to change the biological or physiological bases of human motivation. They argue that there are in principle no philosophical or moralobjections to such moral bioenhancement, and challenge us to rethink our attitudes to our own human nature, before it is too late.
Vaccination Controversies by
Why is there such an active and ongoing resistance to mandatory vaccination? This book examines why vaccination as a public health measure continues to be highly controversial.
Female Genital Mutilation by
This is the most extensive report currently available on the use of law and policy to address the practice of female circumcision/female genital mutilation (FC/FGM). In encouraging a proactive governmental response to the practice, the book places it firmly in a human rights and legal framework. The result of a major research report in 41 countries, both North and South, it covers not only the prevalence of FC/FGM but the various laws and other measures in place to prevent it.The book describes FC/FGM, its history, its consequences for health and the movement now working to combat it. It then reports on each country - its prevalence and governmental measures for its eradication.FC/FGM is not exclusively a concern of African governments. Countries of the North have also adopted legal measures aimed at preventing the practice. These measures, however, are clearly directed at their immigrant populations. This throws up a classic dilemma of human rights work: whether or not to fight for rights that are seen as universal and fundamental - in this case the bodily integrity of women - when it means overriding the cultural beliefs of individuals, or minority groups.Finding a solution to this problem is the second aim of this book. The authors suggest an answer through the actual implementation of human rights treaties. They look at how FC/FGM violates these rights for women: specifically freedom from gender discrimination and violence, the right to health and the rights of children.The last section of the book makes recommendations for action by governments, the international community, and non-governmental organizations.
Islam and War by
This book explores questions regarding the justice of war and addresses the lack of comparative perspectives on the ethics of war, particularly with respect to Islam. John Kelsay begins with the war in the Persian Gulf, focusing on the role of Islamic symbols in the rhetoric of Iraqi President Saddam Hussein. He provides an overview of the Islamic tradition in regards to war and peace, and then focuses on the notion of religion as a just cause for war.
Killing in War by
Killing a person is in general among the most seriously wrongful forms of action, yet most of us accept that it can be permissible to kill people on a large scale in war. Does morality become more permissive in a state of war? Jeff McMahan argues that conditions in war make no difference to what morality permits and that the justifications for killing in war are the same as they are in other contexts, such as individual self-defence. His view is not pacifist,but it is quite unorthodox and has radical implications for the morality of war for example, that it's morally wrong to fight in a war that's unjust.
Online Privacy by
The Internet is great--until someone hacks your accounts or otherwise violates your privacy. This expert book provides a thorough and up-to-date overview of the key issues and risks relative to online privacy and explains how to counter those risks with solutions everyone needs to know. * Illustrative source materials from leading privacy institutions, government, and academia, including research reports, legal cases, laws, regulations, treaties, and codes of conduct * A first-of-its kind chronology of online privacy events, people, organizations, key publications, and agreements * Biographies of key individuals and organizations relative to online privacy * An up-to-date glossary of hundreds of online privacy terms * A substantial reference section including sound clips, video, and other interactive privacy materials
Global Refugee Crisis by
This book documents the current global refugee crisis and examines the interrelated factors of immigration enforcement, international human rights law, political violence, and refugee protection. * Provides the latest empirical data covering the last 30 years, analyzing the human rights practices of the states that produce the majority of the world's asylum seekers * Includes a chapter of over 40 biographies of distinguished refugees from all over the world. * Contains primary source documents of international treaties and protocols related to refugees, as well as data figures revealing statistical trends of asylum seekers and displaced persons
Bringing Life to Ethics by
Enlarges the meaning and scope of inquiry into our values, relationships, and treatment of animals, the environment, and each other.
A Companion to Ethics by
In this volume, some of today's most distinguished philosophers survey the whole field of ethics, from its origins, through the great ethical traditions, to theories of how we ought to live, arguments about specific ethical issues, and the nature of ethics itself. The book can be read straight through from beginning to end; yet the inclusion of a multi-layered index, coupled with a descriptive outline of contents and bibliographies of relevant literature, means that the volume also serves as a work of reference, both for those coming afresh to the study of ethics and for readers already familiar with the subject.
Experiments in Ethics by
Appiah explores how the new empirical moral psychology relates to philosophical ethics. He elaborates a vision of naturalism that resists both temptations and traces an intellectual genealogy of the burgeoning discipline of 'experimental philosophy'.
The Ethical Process by
Assists students in developing their own ethical strategies and standards, and encourages them to apply these strategies to real-life issues. This book can be used alone or as a supplement to any of our business ethics or introductory ethics texts.
Catalogs use "controlled vocabulary" to classify items. The following is a list of some general ethical example terms that can be used in various combinations to retrieve works from the catalog:
"Ethics" "Social ethics" "Morale"
"Ethical problems" "Situation ethics"
"Moral motivation" "Human rights"
"Ethics" AND "Case Studies"
The following terms are used for specific topical treatments in ethics :
"Bioethics" or "Medical ethics"
"Environmental ethics" or "Environmental responsibility"
"Military ethics"
"Business ethics"
"Pharmaceutical ethics"
"Sexual ethics"
Specific topics can also be found without the use of ethics terminology:
"Female Genital Mutilation" or "Female Genital Cutting" or "Female Circumcision"
"Vaccination"
"Data Protection"
"Refugees"
"Disaster Relief"
Combine a geographic region with a topic in the following way:
"Africa" AND "Ethics"
"China" AND "Globalization"
A particular religious or philosophical discipline can be searched in this way:
"Buddhist ethics"
"Christian ethics"
"Jewish ethics"
Try combining any topic of interest with "Moral and ethical aspects" or "Ethics" in the following way:
"Globalization" AND "Moral and ethical aspects"
"Global warming" AND "Moral and ethical aspects"
"Biomedical enhancement" AND "Ethics"
"Medical innovations" AND "Moral and ethical aspects"
"International relations" AND "Moral and ethical aspects"
"Clothing trade" AND "Moral and ethical aspects"
Bibliographic item records will usually be tagged with lists of subject headings or keywords. When you find an item that is useful to your research, please make a note of other terms listed in the record. These terms can help you with other searches to find more items.