Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources for Study Abroad: Before You Go: Deeper Research

This guide provides resources for finding information about countries and their cultures.

Finding Books in the Library

Whether you're a senior and you've done plenty of research using the Library before, or a first-year student just investigating Study Abroad possiblities,  it can be difficult to find books in the library. Please don't hesitate to ask for help at the Reference Desk or the Circulation Desk! Sometimes books are misplaced or missing, and sometimes it's just hard to find them according to their call numbers.

Ask! We're here to help!

Good luck!

All of the librarians in Myrin are excited to support your travels abroad.

Please don't hesitate to stop by and ask us for help -- and when you get back, we'd love to hear about your trip!

The Library -- Searching & Browsing

Don't forget about the books! The library has tour guides to many countries around the world, and lots of more scholarly books about the history and culture of the countries you'll be visiting.

Use the Library Catalog to search our collection for books on specific countries. Jot down a couple of call numbers, and then come in and find the books. There are books called "Country Studies" located in the Reference Section in the 900s, on the side where the tables face the shelves. You could also do a search for your country and "popular culture."

Try a SUBJECT search on your country, too.

Please ask for help! Librarians can help you find lots of information you may not know is out there.

Finding Contemporary Information on Current Events

It's more important than ever to know what's going on in the country you plan to visit. From political upheavals to natural disasters, you want to be as informed as you can before you go. It can be hard to find information on the web, since what gets reported tends to be the major catastrophes in the bigger cities, not the smaller happenings -- good and bad -- in the region you'll be visiting. Here's two resources to help you dig deeper. And keep in mind that these database have articles as recent as yesterday!

  • Academic OneFile
    • The best place to start to look for scholarly journal articles and popular magazine articles. Not everything is full text so you will need to InterLibrary Loan what you can't get here. Be sure to click the "magazines" tab, especially when looking for pop culture information.
  • Lexis-Nexis
    • This database includes hundreds of newspaper and magazine articles from around the world. Search publications from around the world by choosing "Major World Publications (non-english)" from the list of options on the main search page. Coverage is generally back to the 1980s and is ALL full-text.

My Profile

Profile Photo
Diane Skorina
Contact:
Phone: 610.409.3022

Myrin Library

601 E. Main Street

Collegeville, PA 19426
Website
Contact: Facebook Page