Research Portal: Resources for Study Abroad: When You're Abroad: What You Can Use!

Overview: Resources ARE Available!

When you are abroad, you may find that you don't have access to many library resources at your institution. You do, however, still have access to all of Myrin's online resources, some general ones of which are listed here. Check our Databases A-Z page for a complete list of electronic resources.

You can use InterLibrary Loan to request journal articles that you don't find in full text within our databases.

Don't forget that you can contact me directly for help as well. The best way to reach me is probably via e-mail, given the time differences. Make sure to provide as many details about your research question as you can so I can direct you to the best resources.

Interlibrary Loan Service
Login here to borrow materials from other libraries.

Reference Sources

Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Britannica
- Britannica is the online version of the encyclopedia everyone knows. Check here before you use Wikipedia, as Britannica is more carefully edited and more acceptable in scholarly circles.

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Considered the accepted authority on the English language, the OED provides the meaning, history, and pronunciation of some 600,000 words.

Journal, Magazine & Newspaper Articles

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A great place to start for any research project. Full-text articles from both scholarly journals and popular magazines are available. Be sure to click the "magazines" tab if you're interested in seeing popular articles on a topic in such publications as Time and Newsweek, as well as other trade publications in various subjects.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines. Current articles (from the past 5 years) are NOT found in JSTOR. Also includes books.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This database includes thousands of newspaper and magazine articles from around the world. You can find newspaper articles as well as legal and business/company information in this database by choosing the appropriate options on the main search screen. Coverage is generally back to the 1980s and it is ALL full-text.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
This is a collection of recent full-text scholarly journals that covers most subjects. There are a limited number of articles in this database, but if you can find one on your topic, it will be very current.