Research Portal: English: Library Resources

Discovery Search

WorldCat Discovery searches multiple resources including books, journal articles, images, and more. It can be used for both electronic resources and items in our library.

Scholarly Article Databases

Scholarly article databases such as AcademicOne File, MLA, and JSTOR are great places to start research for an essay or independent project. From journal articles to essays, these sites are dedicated to providing bibliographic material to help locate necessary texts for one's studies. Subjects range from literature to history, philosophy, film, and science, just to name a few.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This site has one of the best uses of an advanced search option, in which you can insert numerous specific references to a book, author, or subject, including journal title, publication date, and even literary genre. MLA does not often provide direct links to the source material, but the detailed bibliographical data is usually enough to locate your intended text.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
One of the best places to start one's research, this site offers excerpts from books, magazines, newspapers, scholarly articles, and even video and audio files, which can be used as references for almost any assignment.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This archive of scanned or reprinted texts and files is an optimal location for finding scholarly resources.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This is primarily a source for news and magazine articles, which can be arranged and searched for under such parameters as specific publication, date of issue, and even scope of circulation (local, national, or world wide).
New York Times (Historical Collection, 1851-2020) This link opens in a new window
A great primary source for book reviews of older works at the time of their publication. It's also a great idea to look for historical context in newspaper articles from the time of a book's publication.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text of peer-reviewed journals in the Humanities, Sciences, and Social Sciences.

English

Discovery Search

Scholarly Article Databases

Ursinus College Library