Research Portal: Sustainability: Articles

Your Librarian!

Diane Skorina

Email Me

Contact:

Phone: 610.409.3022

Myrin Library

601 E. Main Street

Collegeville, PA 19426

Subjects: Art and Art History, Film Studies, General Questions, W.R. Crigler Institute

Articles We Like

Margaret Palmer Profile
A very interesting profile about a scientist who is not afraid to enter political debates, conduct well-regarded science and “keep her boots muddy” at the same time.
Campus as a Living Lab
Let's Get Personal - Making Sustainability Tangible to Students
Climate Change and Households
Sustainability & Liberal Education

Library Databases

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
This largely full-text database encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies, featuring more than 950 journals published in the U.S. and abroad. The database also covers conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations. Other materials selectively indexed include significant monographs, government studies and newsletters.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection (formerly Environment Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
Index to articles, government reports, and other types of literature related to agriculture and the environmental sciences. Includes access to AGRICOLA, TOXLINE and other major indexes in the field. Can limit to peer-reviewed publications. Selective full-text.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A great place to start for any research project. Thousands of full-text articles from academic journals, magazines, and newspapers covering all subjects, and abstracts to thousands more that you can get through InterLibrary Loan. 1980s – Present
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This invaluable database contains the full-text of thousands of newspapers and magazine articles from all over the world, which will enable you to find perspectives on sustainablity and "green" issues facing the world today. With articles dating back to the 1980s, you can also gather a historical perspective on an issue. Lexis-Nexis also contains all state and federal codes, legal cases, supreme court decisions and thousands of law review articles. This is invaluable for looking at policy and the law.
Sustainability Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database explores all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management. This is a smaller body of research to search through than the large Environment Abstracts database, but it will more precisely target searches for sustainability-related issues. NOTE: This is an ABSTRACTS ONLY database, so you will need to click the "Find Full Text" link to find the full text of the articles (see box at right).
BioOne This link opens in a new window
This bibliographic database is an indexed and fully-searchable collection of abstracts that link to the fulltext articles available from the BioOne organization. BioOne provides a unique aggregation of over 82 high-impact bioscience research journals from more than 66 publishers. The database covers Environmental Science, Fish and Mammals, among many other areas.
ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
If you're looking for raw data from surveys and studies done on issues relating to sustainability from all over the world, the ICPSR database is a great place to search. You can download datasets in SAS or SPSS format to conduct your own analyses.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This is a good place to search for full text scholarly journal articles, especially if you're seeking a historical pespective on an issue (since many of the journals in here date back to the early 1900s). However -- it's not by any means a comprehensive search for environment-related topics, so use this only if you need something quickly. There is far more up-to-date and comprehensive information in the other resources listed here.

Where is the article located?

When searching for articles in a database, look for the "Find Full Text" button, if the full text isn't readily available. Clicking on this will find the full text of your article online if it's available through Myrin Library. You also have the option to search the Library Catalog to see if we have your article available. If we don't have access to the article, you can request it for free via Interlibrary Loan. You'll receive an e-mail notification when the article is available for you electronically.

To request an article or book you find from general web searching, or from the bibliography in a book or article, login to interlibrary loan with your username and password, and fill out the appropriate form.

Interlibrary Loan Service
Login here to borrow materials from other libraries.

Sustainability: Articles

Your Librarian!

Articles We Like

Library Databases

Where is the article located?

Ursinus College Library