Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide will help your media and communication research from beginning to end. Start by exploring some encyclopedias and dictionaries and then use the tabs to navigate through finding scholarly articles and books, as well as web resources.
Find definitions and short articles in hundreds of specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Oxford English Dictionary
Considered the accepted authority on the English language, the OED provides the meaning, history, and pronunciation of some 600,000 words.
Encyclopedia of New Media by From Amazon.com to virtual communities, the Encyclopedia of New Media presents more than 250 entries that place new communication technology, multimedia, entertainment and e-commerce within their social context. Each subject is examined in depth in a single, coherent article and the Encyclopedia is the first comprehensive, A-Z reference on the ongoing revolution in communications. The Encyclopedia is edited by Steve Jones, one of the most renowned scholars of new media studies, and editor of two SAGE texts in this area Cybersociety 2.0 (1998) and Doing Internet Research (1999). The 275 entries are balanced between information technology and the social landscape, include entries on both themes and theorists, and the volume includes 25 photographs. Unlike many encyclopedias that provide short, fragmented entries, the Encyclopedia of New Media examines each subject in depth in a single, coherent article. Many articles span several pages and are presented in a large, double-column format for easy reading. The Encyclopedia of New Media includes a comprehensive index as well as a reader′s guide that facilitates browsing and easy access to information. Each entry includes a bibliography and suggestions for further reading, together with links to related topics in the Encyclopedia, making this an indispensable resource for students and academics in media and cultural studies and a must for both public and university libraries.
Publication Date: 2003
The Encyclopedia of Television News by A recent Times-Mirror survey has shown that 65 percent of Americans prefer television over other news media for news coverage, an increase of 10 percent in just over a decade. To understand the enormous impact television news has had on American life, it is important to define the contributions made by various individuals in the field, as well as to recognize the news programs and broadcast journalism issues that have captivated, enlightened, and informed our nation. Never before have the forces and individuals of television news been so thoroughly and authoritatively examined.
Call Number: 070.195 EN19 Reference
Publication Date: 1999
World Press Encyclopedia: a survey of press systems worldwide by Twenty-one years after publication of the first edition, this completely revised work contains articles on the press and media in 232 countries and territories. Arranged alphabetically by country, entries generally cover the history of the Fourth Estate, press laws, economic framework, censorship, attitudes toward foreign media, a chronology of significant recent events, and a bibliography. Several entries are illustrated with black-and-white graphs depicting Internet use, top-circulation newspapers, and the number of personal computers; basic country data are also included. Three appendixes provide comparative statistical rankings (newspaper circulation, television stations, radio sets, etc.); annotated listing of news associations and organizations; and a collection of regional maps. A unified author-subject index provides easy access to the contents of both volumes.
Call Number: 070 W893 2003 Reference
Publication Date: 2003
Subjects:Business and Economics
, General Questions
, Government Information
, Health and Exercise Physiology
, International Relations
, Language and Literature
, Media and Communication Studies