Research Portal: Psychology: Find Articles: Databases

Search Terms

Here is a selected list of psychology search terms. Using the specified terms may increase the success of your search. For more information on doing research in psychology, contact your librarian.

PSYCHOLOGY SEARCH TERMS

Adolescent psychology
Affect
Attitude
Behaviorism
Child psychology
Choice
Cognition
Consciousness
Control
Couples
Criminal psychology
Difference
Educational psychology
Ego
Emotions
Fighting
Gestalt psychology
Habit
Hostitity
Human behavior
Ideology
Individuality
Inhibition
Intellect
Judgment
Logic
Loss
Memory
Motivation
Observation
Operant behavior
Personality
Polarity
Positive psychology
Psychoanalysis
Psycholinguistics
Self-acceptance
Social interaction
Social psychology
Stress
Subconsconciousness
Synthesia
Temperament
Values
Will

Databases

Below is a list of selected psychology databases. For a complete listing, visit the library's Databases A-Z page.

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO® is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycINFO® provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Searchable archive of over 150 full-text, peer-reviewed journals in Psychology and allied fields.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A great place to start for any research project. Includes thousands of full-text articles from academic journals, magazines, and newspapers covering all subjects, and abstracts to thousands more that you can get through interlibrary loan. Coverage is from 1980s – Present.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive online digital library of education research and information available. ERIC provides ready access to education literature from journals, books, research symposia, conference papers, policy papers, reports and from practitioners in the field who submit their work to the Department of Education. Some full text is available. Late 1960s – present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines. Late 1800s - 2010s – note that current articles, from the past 5 years, are not found in JSTOR.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text of over 200 journals related to the sciences and the social sciences.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Full text access to hundreds of electronic journals available through the Library's selective Wiley subscription. The available journals are in the fields of biochemistry, biology, business and economics, chemistry, education, health sciences, math and computer science, neuroscience, physics, and psychology. 1990s – present.